Nigerian High Commission, Mozambique

Welcome to the official website of  the High Commissions of Mozambique, Madagascar and Mauritius. It’s part of our effort to provide a more efficient and user friendly service to the public, as part of ongoing reforms in the High Commission. You will find a great deal of information to help you with your enquiries on the services we provide whether you are planning to visit Nigeria for pleasure or business or in need of any other forms of assistance from the High Commission. We have also set up a means for Nigerian residents in the Mozambique, Madagascar and Mauritius to register with us, in order to provide an interactive service between the High Commission and our fellow citizens. 

The work of the Nigeria High Commission is to co-ordinate, promote and protect the national interests of Nigeria within Mozambique, Madagascar and Mauritius in ways that contribute to the enhancement of Nigeria’s security and socio-economic prosperity.

Duties conducted by the High Commissions include:

 * Consular and Welfare matters

 * Immigration affairs

 * Legal and Education

 * Bilateral Political   

 * Multilateral Relations

 * Trade and Economic Affairs as well as information dissemination.

And all general enquiries to assist Nigerian residents in Mozambique and the general public.

Country - Nigeria

Mozambique , officially the Republic of Mozambique is a country located in Southeastern Africa bordered by the Indian Ocean to the east, Tanzania to the north, Malawi and Zambia to the northwest, Zimbabwe to the west, and Eswatini (Swaziland) and South Africa to the southwest. The sovereign state is separated from the Comoros, Mayotte and Madagascar by the Mozambique Channel to the east. The capital and largest city of Mozambique is Maputo (known as Lourenço Marques from 1876 to 1976).

President: His Excellency, Filipe Jacinto Nyusi

Capital Province: Maputo

Language: Portuguese is the official and most widely spoken language of the nation, spoken by 50.3% of the population.

Number of Provinces:  Mozambique is divided into 11 Provinces namely Cabo Delgado, Gaza, Inhambane, Manica, Maputo City, Maputo, Nampula, Niassa, Sofala, Tete and Zambezia. 

Number of Nigerians Resident in Mozambique:  Over 3000 Nigerian Citizens in Mozambique

Country - Mauritius

Mauritius, officially the Republic of Mauritius, is an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) off the southeast coast of the African continent, east of Madagascar. It includes the main island (also called Mauritius), as well as Rodrigues, Agaléga and St. Brandon. The islands of Mauritius and Rodrigues, along with nearby Réunion (a French overseas department), are part of the Mascarene Islands. The capital and largest city, Port Louis, is located in Mauritius, where most of the population is concentrated. The country spans 2,040 square kilometres (790 sq mi) and has an exclusive economic zone covering 2.3 million square kilometres.

President: His Excellency, Prithvirajsing Roopun

Capital Province: Port Louis

Languages:  English and French

Number of Provinces: Mauritius is divided into 9 districts namely Port Louis, Pamplemousses, Rivière du Rempart, Flacq, Grand Port, Savanne, Black River, Plaines Wilhems and Moka. 

Number of Nigerians Resident in Mauritius: Over 3000 Nigerian residents mainly students studying in various universities.

Country - Madagascar

Madagascar, officially the Republic of Madagascar and previously known as the Malagasy Republic, is an island country in the Indian Ocean, approximately 400 kilometres (250 miles) off the coast of East Africa across the Mozambique Channel. At 592,800 square kilometres (228,900 sq mi) Madagascar is the world’s second-largest island country, after Indonesia. The nation consists of the island of Madagascar (the fourth-largest island in the world) and numerous smaller peripheral islands. Following the prehistoric breakup of the supercontinent Gondwana, Madagascar split from the Indian subcontinent around 88 million years ago, allowing native plants and animals to evolve in relative isolation. Consequently, Madagascar is a biodiversity hotspot; over 90% of its wildlife is found nowhere else on Earth.

President: His Excellency, Prithvirajsing Roopun

Capital Province: Antananarivo

Number of Provinces: Mauritius is divided into 9 districts namely Antananarivo, Antsiranana, Fianarantsoa, Mahajanga, Toamasina and Toliara Province.

Languages: Malagasy & French

Number of Nigerians Resident in Mauritius: Over 2000 Nigerians resident in Madagascar

Mission, Vision & Core Value


Dedicated to the vital national interests of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and the promotion of African Integration and unity,international cooperation for the consolidation of Global Peace, Security, a just world economic order and democratic values, through the formulation, articulation and implementation of Nigeria’s Policy objectives for the benefit of the nation, and her citizens by building the capability to be a major role player in world affairs, earning the respect of the People of Africa, and the larger international community.


To build a strong and effective Foreign Ministry that is knowledge-based and technology driven in service delivery, at headquarters and missions abroad, in the pursuit of Nigeria’s interests and foreign policy goals and objectives and guarrantee the dignity of Nigerian citizens, Africans as well as other foreigners in Nigeria. The Ministry is also committed to the vision of Nigeria becoming one of the top twenty economies in the world by the year 2020.


Our Core Values deal with issues of National Security, Survival, Territorial Integrity and Sovereignty as well as strengthening the International Mechnism for effective service delivery and enhancing revenue measures, distributions, Customer service, including increasing a greater economic content in the curriculum of the Nations Foreign Services and Investment